Thai will be full..

Now I’ve only been in Earlsfield for a little under a year, however I do know that Amaranth (which translates to an imaginary flower that never fades) has been around for a number of years with a great reputation for good food and good prices. It under went a renovation about 9months ago to extend the restaurant into an adjoining building and voila more space to fit all of us earlies in! Before the transformation it was a cosy little restaurant (cafe sized) with a BYOB license and there was no such thing as walking in, it was always jammers so booking a table was essential!
Actually when I say cafe sized, it wasn’t as it had a basement of seating too but it just had that feel to it.
20140718-213931-77971243.jpg

Since the make-over there is no longer BYOB having acquired a wine license.. which we don’t mind too much when the food is so good. Having travelled around South East Asia 3 years ago I expanded my taste buds to fancy a little Thai spice, especially in a good auld papaya salad.. So OBVIOUSLY I had to try this out with my friend who i went travelling with and it was Nom Nom Nom, Nommmmy!

20140718-213124-77484671.jpg

I have been there a few times now and to date I haven’t experienced a bad meal….and worryingly for me I’m moving very close to here in less than a month so I bet I’ll be down there every week for the Monday special (LOL)

The last time I ate here was with my Earlie buddy last week and we said we would go all out and get the supreme starter to share, it was so good having a combination of dim sum, chicken satay, prawn tempura, duck spring rolls and prawn skewers..They even do these cute little flower arrangements made from carrot served with some of the dishes. It’s always about that extra little touch.

20140719-123524-45324385.jpg

For the main courses we indulged in a chicken drunken noodles (that was mine, the drunken part sounded fun to me) and a chicken massaman curry for my friend

20140719-124212-45732159.jpg

20140719-124212-45732269.jpg

Just in case anyone is wondering I didn’t get intoxicated from my drunken noodles, however it was quite spicy nommmmmm! On my previous visit I had opted for the seafood laksa (see below) which I definitely will have to try again because like in it’s name of amaranth, it’s the taste that never fades…

20140719-141934-51574118.jpg

If you haven’t been there, then GO! And what makes it better is you can always pop down to the Wandle for a quick drink after (literally about 15 steps away) In terms of price you are talking roughly £20 per head including starter, main course and drink which is great value for money… And I promise Thai (thou) will be full!

~Earlie-Girl

One thought on “Thai will be full..

Leave a Reply

