Earlsfield 2 Edinburgh

I’m backkkkkkk…. I’ve always wanted to go to Edinburgh and 4 years after moving to London I decided to make use of the domestic travel options and make a weekend of it. So for the May bank holiday weekend myself and my friend jumped on a plane after work on Friday and off on our #EdiGirls adventure we went.

Now in true #EarlieGirl fashion I had to make an itinerary to see what I could discover both from a culture, dining and social perspective and thanks to Time Out, I was able to track down some real Edinburgh hidden treasures to try out.

We kicked off the weekend on the Saturday with a trip to The  Pantry which I was super excited about as it looked from the website to be something right up my alley. It definitely lived up to my expectations anyway and the staff were super friendly. The décor was a mish-mash of every style which is totally rocking the brunching industry at the moment.

I wasn’t feeling very meaty that day so I opted for the “Vegetarian Anonymous” which consisted of mushroom, poached egg, tomato, guacamole full of coriander which I was impressed with, halloumi …. and hashed vegetables, forget the hash brown, we have discovered a new breakfast treat. This dish came in @ £8.50 which I reckon is similar to London prices.

I also grabbed myself a peppermint tea which I had to take a photo of as I loved the fact that it was served in a cup and saucer. Again, totally mish-mash and love those teapots too.

Keira had the traditional Eggs Benedict with ham – I bet your mouth is watering up now just looking at this dish. The thing I couldn’t get over was the fact that it was served with proper ham. She loved it, and this dish came in @ £9.00.

Total for the two of us was £20.50. Can’t go wrong for a filling brekkie, lovely surroundings and friendly staff. I was nearly tempted to grab -a-cake-and-go on the way out, but I stopped myself. I loved the way it was displayed – forget the tags, all you need is a work surface and some white chalk.

So on the itinerary for the rest of the day included a free walking tour from Justin the kilt wearing Scotsman who swore a lot – but we weren’t offended. We learnt a lot of random facts that day. We stopped off for some snacks and shopping :O throughout the day.

That evening we ventured back up to the Royal Mile for Edinburgh Pub Crawl which was led by Justin again. For £10 it was such a laugh, venturing onto 7 pubs and ending up in a club. It was a nice way to socialize in the city. (Although, we didn’t get home until 5.30am AND by the way McDonalds closes at 3am (FYI)).

The next morning, we had planned to climb up to Arthurs Seat. Yes, slightly hungover as you can imagine but that didn’t stop us. Well, it kind of did, in the sense that we had to stop off for some good auld hangover food at The Southern where I was nearly tempted to try Haggis BUT with this hangover slightly looming over me I didn’t know how  I would react it to the taste, so I opted for the venison burger with sweet potato fries. The burger was topped with brie, and it absolutely hit the spot for exactly my state of “belly”.

After fueling up with carbs, we made our way up to Arthurs Seat, where, I will not lie, we nearly turned back and at the beginning took some trial routes to get our blood pumping because when you are at the bottom looking at the amount of steps you have to climb it can be quite daunting – well for me anyway, who isn’t exactly a gym bunny.

We did it though, we made it to the top and it was absolutely worth every step and out of breath moment as the view was stunning from the top, windy, but stunning!

We managed to make it back to the apartment just before the legs fell off us. But there wasn’t much relaxing as it was shower and get ready to meet a cousin of Keira’s for dinner at The Kings Warks, which was another one of my finds on Time Out and it had recommended that it was popular with locals and “clued in tourists” (I feel so special). I was brave and decided to try the Haggis, Neeps and Tatties and I was not disappointed it was absolutely amazing. It was served with pepper sauce, and it was the perfect compliment. I drank with red wine. I was so engrossed in my own food that I forgot to take pictures of the rest, but it looked just as good. I indulged in a sticky toffee pudding with custard for dessert which I literally scoffed within 5 minutes, it was so good.

After diiner, we ventured up to Panda & Sons which was a recommendation given to us and it was so cool in there. It reminded me a little of Nightjar in London.

With these cocktail places, you always have to try something different from the standard Mojito so my first choice was a Petal to the Kettle which was so tasty that I knocked it back a little too quickly.

My second option was a little bit tooooooo strong for me as it was a whiskey based cocktail but the presentation was really cool as it came out in a glass birdcage filled with smoke and guess what is was called – Birdcage Cocktail. A very enjoyable experience overall.

On our final day, we got up and headed towards the Royal Mile and picked up a cake from Patisserie Valerie so we could munch on later in the afternoon up at Edinburgh  Castle where we had a lovely time walking around. It cost £16.50 to enter, and is it worth it? not really, but you cant go to Edinburgh and not go and see the castle and the jewels so you know it all weighs up really.

All in all, I LOVED EDINBURGH, and I will be back… but for now, back to #EarlsfieldLiving

~EarlieGirl

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

